What Is The Minimum Auto Insurance I Must Have In Arizona?
Liability amounts are $15,000 per person in Arizona, and $30,000 per accident. If there is more than one person in the accident, the maximum they would pay out would be $30,000 among all people. That insurance only protects other people when you are at fault, so it is important to have it, but it won’t protect you if you suffer your own injuries in an accident. That’s why it’s also important to have uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage, or UM and UIM.
What Exactly Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage Under Arizona Law?
Uninsured motorist coverage is something that you carry on your own automobile policy. It protects you and anyone in your household who is in any kind of accident involving a motor vehicle, even if you’re stuck as a pedestrian or if you’re riding in someone else’s vehicle. If someone else is at fault for your collision and they don’t have insurance, the uninsured motorist coverage will pay what the other insurance company would have paid.
I Have Medical Insurance. Should I Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage On My Auto Insurance Policy?
Medical insurance will only cover your actual medical bills, and it doesn’t always even cover that much if you have a large deductible or co-payments. Uninsured motorist coverage will cover additional things like pain and suffering, lost earnings, and any kind of other out-of-pocket expenses. Also, it will cover the entire medical bill, not just your copay or deductible. It’s important to have both types of coverage.
Is It Difficult To Recoup A Judgment From Lawsuits Filed Against Uninsured/Underinsured People?
It is very difficult to recoup a judgment when the other motorist was uninsured. We can research the assets the person has and, rarely, it can be worthwhile to sue a person, even if they don’t have insurance. Usually, a person does not have insurance because they don’t have enough money. The law is very restrictive about which assets you can go after if you’re trying to collect on a judgment.
When you sue someone and you win, you get a piece of paper from the court that says you won and how much you won called a judgment. The court doesn’t actually give you any money; you have to try to get that money from the other person. If the other person files bankruptcy, you won’t see any of the money. If the other person is unemployed, you won’t see any of that money. If the person has a job but doesn’t have any significant assets, then you may see a small amount of money, but very little. This is the reason why it is so important to have uninsured and under-insured motorist coverage on your policy. Instead of worrying about getting money from the other person, you make a claim with your insurance company and avoid all of those problems.
What Is The Statute Of Limitations For An Auto Accident Claim In Arizona?
For most injury accidents in Arizona, the statute of limitations is two years. However, it is shorter for certain kinds of claims. For example, on claims against a local government vehicle, office, or a school district, you have only 180 days to submit a notice of claim. If that notice of claim does get submitted, then you have one year from the incident that caused injury to file a lawsuit. It’s important to speak to an attorney as soon as possible after your accident, so that you can properly identify which statute of limitations you’re dealing with.
Call For A Free Consultation (480) 378-0057